top of page
  • Writer's pictureBreck Massey

Custom LCD Characters on 6502 Computer

Updated: Jul 9, 2023


One of my goals is to make a game on my 6502 computer. To do this I need a screen. I don't want to have to buy more components, but I do plan to make a graphics card in the future. I decided that I would use the LCD as a display. I knew the LCD had custom characters. Using these characters I planned to turn the LCD into a display. I read over the datasheet and learned that I could only have 8 custom characters. This made me feel devastated. I was hoping to use the whole LCD as a display and now I could only use 1/4. I decided to push forward with the smaller screen. Stored in ram is a set of pixel data. I then convert this data into custom characters. The custom characters would then be printed onto the LCD screen. After reading and taking notes on the documentation (seen below), I grew an understanding on how the LCD worked.

I made a program that made a custom character. It was able to print out a smiley face character. One problem I encountered was that randomly the custom characters would be created and the whole system would break. I was unable to find the source of the problem but the problem disappeared on future iterations. The next step was to create 7 more custom characters so I could make a screen.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page