top of page
  • Writer's pictureBreck Massey

New 6502 PCB?


I had previously designed a PCB for my 6502 computer project. This PCB had a few flaws which motivated me to make a new smaller board. This new board is almost perfect. The only flaw in my opinion was I forgot to label ON and OFF on the power switch. When designing this new PCB I also designed a few other PCBs with would interface with the new design.

Two of the PCBs were specifically for the LCD display. One was the main PCB for the LCD. This PCB housed the LCD along with components to make the LCD run. The other PCB served as a connector to connect the LCD to the computer.






I also designed PCBs which enables me to make memory Mapped IO very easily. The picture on the left shows the two PCBs that make up the IO expansion board. The IO works through memory mapping each IO port. The additional board has the 16 bit address and 8 bit data that comes from the 6502 along with some other lines. This allows for chips to check the address and read or write data. In the picture on the left the boards are hooked up to a breadboard which acts as a memory mapped 8 bit register.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page