top of page
  • Writer's pictureBreck Massey

Softbody Rocket Game!


The continuation of my softbody simulation led to me creating a prototype for a rocket racing game. The softbody simulation covers all of the physics and collisions. Because of the way it is design, it can easily be modified to add other rockets you race against. It is over 2000 lines of code but it runs pretty smoothly. During the development I ran into a problem where Khan Academy would keep crashing on me. Using inspect I was able to determine that I was having a memory leak issue. I randomly found another project which had a snippet of code which solved this problem. Now that I have a good prototype, I plan to use openGL to make this into a real game. OpenGL is slightly outdated so why am I not using something like Vulkan? I started out wanting to use Vulkan but it had way to much set up to even draw one triangle. I didn't like the level of complexity so I decided to use OpenGL as I will not have to complex of graphics. I love to use Khan Academy for quick prototyping and then turning the concepts into real projects.



Play it here:


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page